The eve of the New York Game Awards saw the announcement of the winners of the thirteenth annual ceremony. The big winner of the night was Baldur’s Gate III, securing two awards, including the coveted title of “Game of the Year.”

Alan Wake II also basked in the limelight. Similar to the creation of Larian Studios, the second installment of Alan Wake’s adventures was nominated in five categories, triumphing in two. Critics also praised the efforts of Hi-Fi Rush, Chants of Sennaar, Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty, and other games.

Big Apple Award for Best Game of the Year

  • Baldur’s Gate III.
  • Alan Wake II.
  • Armored Core VI: Fires of Rubicon.
  • Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty.
  • Hi-Fi Rush.
  • The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom.
  • Marvel’s Spider-Man 2.
  • Starfield.

Off-Broadway Award for Best Indie Game

  • Chants of Sennaar.
  • A Space for the Unbound.
  • El Paso, Elsewhere.
  • Jusant.
  • Pizza Tower.
  • Sea of Stars.
  • The Talos Principle II.
  • Viewfinder.

Herman Melville Award for Best Writing

  • Baldur’s Gate III.
  • Alan Wake II.
  • Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty.
  • Starfield.
  • Tchia.
  • Thirsty Suitors.

Statue of Liberty Award for Best World

  • Alan Wake II.
  • Baldur’s Gate III.
  • Chants of Sennaar.
  • Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty.
  • Final Fantasy XVI.
  • Marvel’s Spider-Man 2.
  • Starfield.

Tin Pan Alley Award for Best Music

  • Hi-Fi Rush.
  • Alan Wake II.
  • Baldur’s Gate III.
  • Final Fantasy XVI.
  • Tchia.
  • The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom.

Great White Way Award for Best Acting

  • Melanie Liburd (Saga Anderson from Alan Wake II).
  • Amelia Tyler (Narrator from Baldur’s Gate III).
  • Ben Starr (Clive from Final Fantasy XVI).
  • Elizabeth Saydah (Riley from Oxenfree II: Lost Signals).
  • Idris Elba (Solomon Reid from Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty).
  • Neil Newbon (Astarion from Baldur’s Gate III).

Dreamland on Coney Island Award for Best AR/VR Game

  • Asgard’s Wrath 2.
  • Assassin’s Creed Nexus VR.
  • Body of Mine.
  • Horizon Call of the Mountain.
  • Humanity.
  • We Are One.

Central Park Zoo Award for Best Children’s Game

  • Super Mario Bros. Wonder.
  • Disney Illusion Island.
  • Nickelodeon All-Star Brawl 2.
  • Pikmin 4.
  • Tchia.
  • The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom.

A-Train Award for Best Mobile Game

  • Honkai: Star Rail.
  • Hello Kitty Island Adventure.
  • Kimono Cats.
  • Laya’s Horizon.
  • Monster Hunter Now.
  • Terra Nil.

Freedom Tower Award for Best Remake

  • Resident Evil 4.
  • Dead Space.
  • Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective.
  • Metroid Prime Remastered.
  • Star Ocean: The Second Story.
  • Super Mario RPG.

Joe Di Maggio Award for Best Esports Player

  • Arslan “Arslan Ash” Siddique (Twisted Minds/Red Bull eSports) — Tekken 7.
  • Alexis “Zen” Bernier (Team Vitality) — Rocket League.
  • Choi “Zeus” Woo-je (T1) — League of Legends.
  • Lee “Faker” Sang-Hyeok (T1) — League of Legends.
  • Mathieu “ZywOo” Herbaut (Team Vitality) — Counter-Strike: Global Offensive.
  • Paco “HyDra” Rusiewiez (New York Subliners) — Call of Duty.

Chumley’s Speakeasy Award for Best Hidden Gem

  • Slay the Princess.
  • 9 Years of Shadow.
  • American Arcadia.
  • Conrad Stevenson’s Paranormal P.I..
  • Outer Terror.
  • Videoverse.

George Washington Bridge Award for Best DLC

  • Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty.
  • Dead Cells: Return to Castlevania.
  • God of War Ragnarök: Valhalla.
  • Horizon Forbidden West: Burning Shores.
  • Resident Evil 4: Separate Ways.
  • Vampire Survivors: Co-op Mode.

Knickerbocker Award for Best Game Journalism

  • Nicole Carpenter (Polygon).
  • Andrea Long Chu (Vulture).
  • Blessing Adeoya Jr. (Kinda Funny Games).
  • Brendan Sinclair (
  • Ed Smith (PCGamesN/Bullet Points Monthly).
  • Hanif Abdurraqib (The Paris Review).
  • Reid McCarter (Bullet Points Monthly).

Andrew Yoon Legend Award

  • Neil Druckmann, Co-President Naughty Dog.
Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment